In general, test/certification units for all horizontal station cabling shall be capable of performing certification tests on UTP Category 6 cable and produce test results in hard copy and/or disk format. Test Reports shall include the following information for each cabling element tested:

  • Actual measured and maximum allowable attenuation (loss) at the category ratings.
  • An individual test that fails should be marked as FAIL. Those that pass this criteria should indicate a PASS rating.
  • Actual length and maximum allowable length. Any individual test that fails the length criteria shall be marked as FAIL.
  • Test should indicate tester manufacturer, model, serial number, and software version.
  • Circuit ID number and project/job name.
  • Link criteria (Auto Test) used.

The basic 6  test will include:

  • Wire Map
  • Continuity
  • Length
  • Insertion Loss
  • Near End Crosstalk (NEXT)
  • Return Loss
  • Equal Level Far End Crosstalk (ELFLEX)
  • Propagation Delay
  • Delay Skew

The tester will meet or exceed the performance standards set by ANSI/TIA/EIA-568-B.2-1.

For any questions please contact your assigned project manager.


Estimate Your Project Cost Now